Weather Alert

Nebraska Commissioner Chosen as Council of Chief State School Officers President-Elect

The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) announced its 2019-20 Board of Directors this week, following elections at the 2019 Annual Policy Forum in Atlanta, GA.

Jillian Balow, Superintendent of Public Instruction in Wyoming, assumed the presidency and Matthew L. Blomstedt, Nebraska Commissioner of Education, was chosen as president-elect.

CCSSO is a nationwide, nonprofit organization who heads departments of elementary and secondary education all around the country. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major education issues.

“The state chiefs elected to CCSSO’s board share a steadfast commitment to ensuring every student thrives in school and graduates high school ready for college and career. Equity is at the heart of the work America’s state chiefs do every day, and I look forward to working with this board to continue that responsibility,” said Carissa Moffat Miller, executive director of CCSSO.

CCSSO’s Board of Directors manages the overall business affairs of the Council and is the governing body of the organization. The board is composed of the president, the president-elect, the past president, and six directors elected by the members from the CCSSO membership.

READ MORE: Willa Cather National Committee Accepting Applications For J. Sterling Morton Statue

Connect With Us Listen To Us On